When to put fish in new pond
  • david3333david3333 February 2012
    Hi, I am new to this forum. I've just completed my fish pond. How do I know when it is time
    to put in my fish?

Thank You.
  • ChengAunChengAun February 2012
    Check ph, ammonia, nitrate , nitrite. The salt the pond. Wait for a week or two. Then add fish. Care to show your pond layout?
    Be updated in the world of koi. Jangankan seperti "Koi di bawah bottom drain"
    ChengAun,
    Thanks for your quick respond. I have attached my pond, please feel free to comment. Any advise will be grateful. The size 78x52x36(depth) inches. The filter measures 12x20 inches and partially eats into the pond. Can you state in details about checking ph, amonia, etc. How to to this? is there a tool/meter? How to salt the pond? I am totally new to breeding koi.
  • ashfaqashfaq February 2012
    Thanks,
    Ashfaq from India-Chennai
  • SRathaSRatha February 2012
    Hi David,
    From the picture, it seems you have not coated the pond, and it is bare cement/concrete from the picture. My advice would be to fill it up with water, and let all the toxic/poison from construction of the pond clear out to run in the pond. You may want to clean up using a brush or anything to rid of the excess cement. I would run it in for a week, if not longer (this is a good time to add in all your new filter medias or anything you plan on putting in your filter to run it in). Empty the pond and fill it up with water again. Most importantly add beneficial bacteria, dose it a good amount. If you are still unsure, I would put in tester fish to make sure it can survive for 2-3 days.