DIY drum filter
  • stingsting September 2012
    Hi all koi hobbyist, I m newbie here. Would like seeking sifu2 otai2 give some comment & advice.
    Anyone use drum filter here? I want trying DIY filter on 55 gallon drum but dunno which is better a way. My filter going to place above the pond water level. Water is pump feed directly to filter, then gravity flow back to pond. Due to limited space, so I don't have any mechanical filtering for solid waste. Dunno how to figure out to put this because my place only can fit one drum filter only.....
    Here is my sketch drawing of filter:

The media I have now is Japan Matt, bio ring, coral chips (2cm above), coral sand (app 0.5 to 1cm).
    1. So in drawing filter, which one is working better?
    2. What is the sequence of the media (1,2,3,4) accordingly for selected filter?
    3. What else must needed that I miss out?

Really appreciate whose can contribute here......Thank you very much.
  • ChengAunChengAun September 2012
    I prefer B. The leftover fines can settle down at the bottom better hence better flushing and prevention of buildup of aenerobic bacteria. Plus you will benefit from the submerged uv light rather than if you want to use a uv filter tube.
    Be updated in the world of koi. Jangankan seperti "Koi di bawah bottom drain"
  • grinkz01grinkz01 September 2012
    filter a is better..easier backwash yet u will not experience water overflow easily caused by filter clog..while in b ur filtration will not fully effective as time goes by due to top part of filter media will get clog easily.

u can also adopt similar uv system to filter a.
    Post edited by grinkz01 at 2012-09-01 09:12:03 pm
  • HDCuHDCu September 2012
    Hi Sting,